Cisco – École Polytechnique Networking Innovation and Research Symposium, March 7-8, 2016

imageThe Cisco Paris Innovation and Research Lab (PIRL) holds its first annual networking innovation and research symposium, jointly organized by Cisco and École Polytechnique.

The symposium invites industrial and academic experts from around the world to exchange on topics related to development, deployment, and evolution of Internet Protocols.

Keynotes will be delivered by:


Cisco-Polytechnique Symposium 2016

The agenda includes more than 30 technical talks and discussions, on topics including:

  • Information-Centric Networking (ICN) Routing, Security, Congestion control & Caching, and 5G
  • Internet Measurements
  • Protocol Evolution & IPv6-Centric Networking: Opportunities and Challenges

The symposium will also expose results from projects that Cisco has done in collaboration with École Polytechinque students over the years, for example creation and launch of the “6lab” IPv6 measurements website which operates from the PIRL data center in Paris and has been crucial in our understanding of the progress and quality of IPv6 deployment since the World IPv6 Launch in 2012.


  • Alain Fiocco, Cisco
  • David Ward, Cisco
  • Prof. Thomas Clausen, Ecole Polytechnique
  • W. Mark Townsley, Cisco Fellow and Prof., Ecole Polytechnique
  • Prof. Antonio Carzaniga, University of Lugano, Switzerland
  • Prof. Christian Tschudin, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • Prof. Mauro Conti, University of Padova, Italy
  • Prof. Xiaoming Fu, University of Göttingen, Germany
  • Prof. George Polyzos, AUEB, Greece
  • Dr. Luca Muscariello, Cisco
  • Prof. Dario Rossi, Telecom ParisTech & Ecole Polytechnique
  • Dr. Giovanna Carofiglio, Cisco
  • Prof. Giovanni Pau, UPMC France & UCLA, USA
  • Prof. Jörg Ott, Technische Universität München
  • Dr. Giovanna Carofiglio, Cisco
  • Prof. Jörg Ott, Technische Universität München
  • Martin Levy, Cloudflare
  • Jamie Panagos, Jaime Miles, TWC
  • Stefano Previdi, Cisco
  • Andre Surcouf, Cisco
  • Aloys Augustin, Cisco & Ecole Polytechnique
  • Axel Clauberg, DT
  • Tom Herbert, Facebook
  • Eric Vyncke, Cisco
  • Mehdi Kouhen Ecole Polytechnique & Cisco
  • Marcus Keane, Microsoft
  • John Leddy, John Brzozwski, Comcast
  • Stefano Vissicchio, UCL